The Kompetenzzentrum Fachkräftesicherung (Research Unit on Securing Skilled Labour) helps small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) to meet their needs for skilled workers.

The project is sponsored by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology and jointly realised by the German Economic Institute (IW). On the website SMEs can find information about the development of the German economy’s need for skilled workers and the currently available possibilities for recruiting skilled labour. There are already skills shortages in many occupations requiring a university degree, and workers with vocational qualifications are also in increasingly short supply. Demographic change will make the competition for well-qualified workers even fiercer. The Research Unit on Securing Skilled Labour alerts small and medium-sized companies to this danger and outlines the action they need to take. The project aims to motivate companies to tackle the challenge of securing skilled staff by adopting the appropriate long-term HR policies. The Research Unit’s website presents tried and tested instruments and strategies with which firms can find, bind and train skilled workers. The information has been specially prepared for SMEs and the project’s staff also attend events for this target group to provide information and answer questions.

To the website of the Kompetenzzentrums Fachkräftesicherung

Contact

Dirk Werner

Dirk Werner

Head of the Research Unit Vocational Education and Training

Tel+49 221 4981-712

Mailwerner@iwkoeln.de

@DKW_follow

Go to profile
Regina Flake

Dr. Regina Flake

Economist for International Occupational Training Research, Supply of skill needs and Vocational Training

Tel+49 221 4981-840

Mailflake@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Zuzana Blazek

Zuzana Blazek

Senior Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-830

Mailblazek@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Alexander Burstedde

Alexander Burstedde

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-217

Mailburstedde@iwkoeln.de

@ABurstedde

Go to profile
Annette Dietz

Annette Dietz

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-796

Maildietz@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Svenja Jambo

Svenja Jambo

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-794

Mailjambo@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Lydia Malin

Lydia Malin

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-850

Mailmalin@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
David B. Meinhard

David B. Meinhard

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981‑815

Mailmeinhard@iwkoeln.de

@DBMeinhard

Go to profile
Christoph Metzler

Christoph Metzler

Economist for Vocational Training and Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-871

Mailmetzler@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Sarah Pierenkemper

Sarah Pierenkemper

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-884

MailPierenkemper@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Paula Risius

Paula Risius

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-834

Mailrisius@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Anna Schopen

Anna Schopen

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-832

Mailschopen@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Sibylle Stippler

Sibylle Stippler

Senior Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981‑865

Mailstippler@iwkoeln.de

@SibylleStippler

Go to profile