Vocational Inclusion

Unemployment is significantly more prevalent among the disabled than in the rest of the population. Often illness and subsequent courses of rehabilitation interrupt the careers of people with disabilities, limiting their chances on the labour market.

Authors
Content Type

To enable the greatest number of those affected to have a working life despite all these difficulties, legislation imposes obligations on companies. Those with 20 or more employees are required to reserve 5 % of all positions for disabled workers. Companies which fail to meet this quota are subject to a compensatory levy for every one of these positions which remains unfilled. The revenue from this levy, which amounts to some half a billion euros annually, is used to promote vocational integration for the disabled.

Some companies are reluctant to hire people with disabilities because they cannot assess their capacity for work. Similarly, the especially strict legislation protecting disabled workers from dismissal and their additional holiday entitlement have often proved obstacles to employment. However, lack of information is still the greatest problem and one which REHADAT has set itself the task of alleviating. This project, sponsored by the Federal Ministry of Labour and implemented by the IW, gathers information on the practice of vocational rehabilitation and makes it available on the internet. The data on assistive devices is also incorporated in EASTIN, a European network.

Petra Bergerhof

Petra Bergerhof

Clerk

Tel+49 221 4981-844

Mailbergerhof@iwkoeln.de

Anja Brockhagen

Anja Brockhagen

Consultant

Tel+49 221 4981-845

Mailbrockhagen@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Mareike Decker

Mareike Decker

Team leader REHADAT Resources

Tel+49 221 4981-806

Maildecker@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Sonja Doering

Sonja Doering

Team Assistance

Tel+49 221 4981-812

Maildoering@iwkoeln.de

Eva Eisch

Eva Eisch

Content Managerin

Tel+49 221 4981 463

Maileisch@iwkoeln.de

Daniel Heuser

Daniel Heuser

IT developer

Tel+49 221 4981-817

Mailheuser@iwkoeln.de

Heike Knaak

Heike Knaak

Researcher

Tel+49 221 4981-814

Mailknaak@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Christina Knödler

Christina Knödler

Consultant

Tel+49 221 4981-639

Mailknoedler@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Andrea Kurtenacker

Andrea Kurtenacker

Head of the Research Unit Vocational Rehabilitation and Inclusion

Tel+49 221 4981-848

Mailkurtenacker@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Maisun Lange

Maisun Lange

Researcher

Tel+49 221 4981-808

Maillange@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Britta Lüssem

Britta Lüssem

Web developer

Tel+49 221 4981-827

Mailluessem@iwkoeln.e

Henrike Menne

Henrike Menne

Researcher

Tel+49 221 4981-835

Mailmenne@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Georg Nacken

Georg Nacken

Content Manager

Tel+49 221 4981-882

Mailnacken@iwkoeln.de

Akshay Patil

Akshay Patil

Consultant

Tel+49 221 4981-878

Mailpatil@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Lena Perings

Lena Perings

Clerk

Tel+49 221 4981-802

Mailperings@iwkoeln.de

Eva Rabung

Eva Rabung

Content Managerin

Tel+49 221 4981-867

Mailrabung@iwkoeln.de

Jasmin Saidie

Jasmin Saidie

Economist

Tel+49 221 4981-846

Mailsaidie@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Guido Schlagheck

Guido Schlagheck

Researcher

Tel+49 221 4981-858

Mailschlagheck@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Martin Selbach

Martin Selbach

Deputy Project Management REHADAT and Team leader REHADAT-IT

Tel+49 221 4981-836

Mailselbach@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Thomas Stude

Thomas Stude

Clerk

Tel+49 221 9481-829

Mailstude@iwkoeln.de

Frank Tomaszewski

Frank Tomaszewski

Researcher

Tel+49 221 4981-809

Mailtomaszewski@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Patricia Traub

Patricia Traub

Consultant

Tel+49 221 9481-801

Mailtraub@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Michael Wenzel

IT-Entwickler

Tel+49 221 4981-734

Mailwenzel@iwkoeln.de

Rufus Witt

Rufus Witt

Clerk

Tel+49 221 4981-853

Mailwitt@iwkoeln.de