Personnel Policy

Personnel Policy

The aim of HR or personnel management is to recruit and retain suitably trained staff, a task which demographic change is making increasingly difficult.

As the population as a whole ages and shrinks, so do companies’ workforces, and they are faced with a dwindling pool of younger workers to fill vacancies. As a result, firms must try even harder to attract the declining number of skilled workers.

Women offer an especially promising reservoir of untapped potential, since a smaller proportion are already economically active in Germany than in other countries’. To attract more women into employment, combining a job with bringing up a family must be made easier. The lack of freshly trained workers also means that if high levels of expertise are to be maintained, HR managers will have do more to give their workforce ongoing training. Adopting HR policies based on employees’ life cycles will be important for keeping the workforce motivated and productive right up to the moment they retire.

Annette Dietz

Annette Dietz

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-796

Maildietz@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Christiane Flüter-Hoffmann

Christiane Flüter-Hoffmann

Senior Researcher for Human Ressource Management Policies

Tel+49 221 4981-841

Mailflueter@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Andrea Hammermann

Dr. Andrea Hammermann

Senior Economist for Working Conditions and Human Ressource Management Policies

Tel+49 221 4981-314

Mailhammermann@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Louisa Marie Kürten

Louisa Marie Kürten

Economic Research Consultant of the IW Akademie

Tel+49 221 4981-785

Mailkuerten@iwkoeln.de

@Louisa_Kuerten

Go to profile
David B. Meinhard

David B. Meinhard

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981‑815

Mailmeinhard@iwkoeln.de

@DBMeinhard

Go to profile
Valerie Müller

Dr. Valerie Müller

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-289

Mailmueller@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Anna Schopen

Anna Schopen

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-832

Mailschopen@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Oliver Stettes

Dr. Oliver Stettes

Head of the Research Unit Labour and Personnel Economics

Tel+49 221 4981-697

Mailstettes@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Sibylle Stippler

Sibylle Stippler

Senior Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981‑865

Mailstippler@iwkoeln.de

@SibylleStippler

Go to profile