Foto: iStock

Environment and Energy

Foto: iStock

Alongside digitalization, climate change is the megatrend of our time. Our economy is still largely dependent on fossil energies. How must the economy be shaped so that it is in harmony with the environment? What does an economically efficient and socially acceptable climate policy look like? How can energy needs be met more and more from renewable sources? Can the transformation to a circular economy succeed? These and other questions are addressed by the Environment Energy Infrastructure competence area at the Institute of German Business.

In 2015, Germany and the EU set themselves ambitious goals by signing the UN Sustainable Development Goals or SDGs. Important levers for greater sustainability exist, for example, in transport, the building sector and industry. The EU also has big plans when it comes to climate protection: The Green Deal is intended to pave the way to a climate-neutral future. The money for this - one trillion euros - is to be raised via a fund and come from private investors.

Learn moreShow less

Authors
Content Type
Andreas Fischer

Andreas Fischer

Economist

Tel+49 221 4981-402

Mailfischer@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Sarah Fluchs

Dr. Sarah Fluchs

Economist for Environment, Circular Economy and Sustainability

Tel+49 221 4981-838

MailFluchs@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Roland Kube

Dr. Roland Kube

Economist for energy and climate policy

Tel+49 221 4981-664

Mailkube@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Malte Küper

Malte Küper

Referent for Energy

Tel+49 221 4981-673

Mailkueper@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Adriana Neligan

Dr. Adriana Neligan

Senior Economist for Green Economy and Resource Economics

Tel+49 30 27877-128

Mailneligan@iwkoeln.de

@a_neligan

Go to profile
Thomas Puls

Thomas Puls

Senior Economist for Transport and Infrastructure

Tel+49 221 4981-766

Mailpuls@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Thilo Schaefer

Dr. Thilo Schaefer

Head of the Research Unit Environment, Energy, Infrastructure

Tel+49 221 4981-791

Mailthilo.schaefer@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Finn Arnd Wendland

Consultant for energy and climate policy

Tel+49 221 4981-798

Mailwendland@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile