Foto: Fotolia

Vocational Education and Training

Foto: Fotolia

Every year Germany’s dual system of vocational training offers around two thirds of all school-leavers the prospect of learning one of some 350 trades. Currently, just under 1.6 m trainees in nearly 500,000 businesses are taking advantage of this offer. Combining practical training at work with continued education at a vocational school, the dual system enables young people in Germany to be integrated into the workforce relatively successfully, as the low level of youth unemployment relative to other countries shows.

Authors
Content Type

Yet there is no reason for us to rest on our laurels, as this transition is seldom seamless. The average age of those starting an apprenticeship is 19 years, with many school-leavers first having to complete a preparatory course. Companies are encountering increasing difficulties in finding suitable applicants.

Additionally, there is a need for improvement at the interfaces between vocational training, further training and tertiary education. Too often skills which have already been acquired are not recognised. Moreover, the traditional German belief in apprenticeships does not extend to further training. Companies are setting a good example in this respect, investing an average of over a thousand euros a year on the further training of their employees. However, the challenges of demographic change and technological progress mean that such measures will have to be expanded and vocational training systematically developed if the economy is not to run out of skilled workers.

Alexander Burstedde

Alexander Burstedde

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-217

Mailburstedde@iwkoeln.de

@ABurstedde

Go to profile
Frank Martin Clauß

Frank Martin Clauß

Consultant for Vocational Education and Training

Tel+49 221 4981-315

Mailclauss@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Regina Flake

Dr. Regina Flake

Senior Economist for International Occupational Training Research, Supply of skill needs and Vocational Training

Tel+49 221 4981-840

Mailflake@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Leena Ann Kozhuppakalam

Leena Ann Kozhuppakalam

Consultant for press and public relations Netzwerk Q4.0

Tel+49 221 4981-540

Mailkozhuppakalam@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Corinna Kremers

Consultant for education

Tel+49 221 4981-771

Mailkremers@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Louisa Marie Kürten

Louisa Marie Kürten

Economic Research Consultant

Tel+49 221 4981-785

Mailkuerten@iwkoeln.de

@Louisa_Kuerten

Go to profile
David B. Meinhard

David B. Meinhard

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981‑815

Mailmeinhard@iwkoeln.de

@DBMeinhard

Go to profile
Christoph Metzler

Christoph Metzler

Economist for Vocational Training and Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-871

Mailmetzler@iwkoeln.de

@TophAndre

Go to profile
Valerie Müller

Dr. Valerie Müller

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-289

Mailmueller@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Paula Risius

Paula Risius

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-834

Mailrisius@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Susanne Seyda

Dr. Susanne Seyda

Senior Economist for Supply of skill needs and Continuing Vocational Education and Training

Tel+49 221 4981-740

Mailseyda@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Isabel Vahlhaus

Isabel Vahlhaus

Project Manager

Tel+49 221 4981-769

Mailvahlhaus@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Svenja von Poblocki

Svenja von Poblocki

Consultant for digital education at the Competence Centre for Securing Skilled Workers

Tel+49 221 4981-561

MailPoblocki@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Dirk Werner

Dirk Werner

Head of the Research Unit Vocational Education and Training

Tel+49 221 4981-712

Mailwerner@iwkoeln.de

@DKW_follow

Go to profile