Vocational Education and Training

Vocational Education and Training

Every year Germany’s dual system of vocational training offers around two thirds of all school-leavers the prospect of learning one of some 350 trades. Currently, just under 1.6 m trainees in nearly 500,000 businesses are taking advantage of this offer. Combining practical training at work with continued education at a vocational school, the dual system enables young people in Germany to be integrated into the workforce relatively successfully, as the low level of youth unemployment relative to other countries shows.

Yet there is no reason for us to rest on our laurels, as this transition is seldom seamless. The average age of those starting an apprenticeship is 19 years, with many school-leavers first having to complete a preparatory course. Companies are encountering increasing difficulties in finding suitable applicants.

Additionally, there is a need for improvement at the interfaces between vocational training, further training and tertiary education. Too often skills which have already been acquired are not recognised. Moreover, the traditional German belief in apprenticeships does not extend to further training. Companies are setting a good example in this respect, investing an average of over a thousand euros a year on the further training of their employees. However, the challenges of demographic change and technological progress mean that such measures will have to be expanded and vocational training systematically developed if the economy is not to run out of skilled workers.

Melanie Behrendt

Melanie Behrendt

Speaker for Press and Public Relations

Tel+49 221 4981-702

Mailbehrendt@iwkoeln.de

Svenja Jambo

Svenja Jambo

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-794

Mailjambo@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Lydia Malin

Lydia Malin

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-850

Mailmalin@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
David B. Meinhard

David B. Meinhard

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981‑815

Mailmeinhard@iwkoeln.de

@DBMeinhard

Go to profile
Christoph Metzler

Christoph Metzler

Economist for Vocational Training and Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-871

Mailmetzler@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Valerie Müller

Dr. Valerie Müller

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-289

Mailmueller@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Olesia Schmetzer

Olesia Schmetzer

Economist for International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 4981-709

Mailschmetzer@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Susanne Seyda

Dr. Susanne Seyda

Senior Economist for Supply of skill needs and Continuing Vocational Education and Training

Tel+49 221 4981-740

Mailseyda@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Dirk Werner

Dirk Werner

Head of the Research Unit Vocational Education and Training

Tel+49 221 4981-712

Mailwerner@iwkoeln.de

@DKW_follow

Go to profile