German business is desperate for skilled staff with academic and technical backgrounds, particularly the mathematicians, IT specialists, natural scientists and technicians referred to collectively in Germany by the acronym MINT.

On the one hand, young graduates are in short supply, as demographic change thins out each new cohort and new generations of students opt for other subjects. On the other, there is a growing demand for highly trained staff as companies concentrate on ‘knowledge work’ to survive fierce international competition. Inhibiting production and development, this shortage of skilled workers costs billions of euros every year.

Companies attempt to lure scarce applicants with high pay. Increasingly, too, they are training existing staff to the required level. Yet business cannot end the shortage on its own. Universities must produce more technical graduates. According a higher importance to technical subjects in schools would generate more interest, especially among girls. Last but not least, the German states must invest more in their tertiary institutions. Currently, too many MINT students are dropping out due to the poor conditions they have to study under. All these measures are expensive but they would pay off in the long term - even for the state, since technical graduates are usually good tax payers.

Justina Alichniewicz

Justina Alichniewicz

Economist for Migration

Tel+49 221 4981-875

Mailalichniewicz@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Christina Anger

Senior Economist for Education

Tel+49 221 4981-718

Mailanger@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Sarah Berger

Economist for Immigration, Innovation and STEM

Tel+49 221 4981-694

Mailberger@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Zuzana Blazek

Senior Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-830

Mailblazek@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Alexander Burstedde

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-217

Mailburstedde@iwkoeln.de

@ABurstedde

Go to profile

Annette Dietz

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-796

Maildietz@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Jean-Marc Djanhan

Economist for Immigration

Tel+49 221 4981-520

Maildjanhan@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Regina Flake

Regina Flake

Economist for International Occupational Training Research, Supply of skill needs and Vocational Training

Tel+49 221 4981-840

Mailflake@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Desirée Holz

Desirée Holz

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981‑289

Mailholz@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Svenja Jambo

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-794

Mailjambo@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Oliver Koppel

Oliver Koppel

Senior Economist for Innovation and S+E

Tel+49 221 4981-716

Mailkoppel@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Markus Körbel

Markus Körbel

Researcher

Tel+49 221 4981-874

Mailkoerbel@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Kerstin Krey

Kerstin Krey

Tel+49 221 4981-833

Fax+49 221 4981-99833

Mailkrey@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Lydia Malin

Lydia Malin

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-850

Mailmalin@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Mohamed Salah Mansour

Economist füor International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 4981-520

Mailmansour@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
David B. Meinhard

David B. Meinhard

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981‑815

Mailmeinhard@iwkoeln.de

@DBMeinhard

Go to profile
Christoph Metzler

Christoph Metzler

Economist for Supply of skill needs and Vocational Training

Tel+49 221 4981-871

Mailmetzler@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Jeannette Michaelle Nintcheu

Jeannette Michaelle Nintcheu

Researcher for Immigration

Tel+49 221 4981-872

Mailnintcheu@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Sarah Pierenkemper

Sarah Pierenkemper

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-884

MailPierenkemper@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Marie-Claire Fee von Radetzky

Marie-Claire Fee von Radetzky

Researcher for International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 4981-275

Mailradetzky@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Paula Risius

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-834

Mailrisius@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Anna Schopen

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-832

Mailschopen@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Kristina Stoewe

Kristina Stoewe

Researcher for International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 4981-852

Mailstoewe@iwkoeln.de

@KristinaStoewe

Go to profile
Dirk Werner

Dirk Werner

Head of the Research Unit Vocational Education and Training

Tel+49 221 4981-712

Mailwerner@iwkoeln.de

@DKW_follow

Go to profile
Daniel Wörndl

Daniel Wörndl

Economist for International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 4981-864

Mailwoerndl@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile