Picture: iStock

Education and Skilled Workers

Picture: iStock

Enjoying few natural resources, Germany is particularly reliant on ideas. The government’s primary task must therefore be to invest in minds, in other words, to create an innovative and internationally competitive education system.

Germany is still a long way from achieving this aim. Its schools and universities are not turning out enough suitably qualified workers. The problem is aggravated by a birth rate which has for decades been too low and a correspondingly declining number of schoolchildren and university students. The resulting lack of trained workers has already led to high losses in value added. It is therefore more important than ever that those children and young people there are receive the best possible education. The money which the state saves as a result of demographic change - by paying out less in child benefit, for example - should be reinvested in better education. There is a particular need to expand pre-school education since in future it will become increasingly important to start teaching children essential knowledge and skills at a very early age.

Learn moreShow less

Authors
Content Type
Frank Martin Clauß

Frank Martin Clauß

Consultant for Vocational Education and Training

Tel+49 221 4981-315

Mailclauss@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Louisa Marie Kürten

Louisa Marie Kürten

Economic Research Consultant

Tel+49 221 4981-785

Mailkuerten@iwkoeln.de

@Louisa_Kuerten

Go to profile
Gesina Leininger

Gesina Leininger

Economist for International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 / 4981-325

Mailleininger@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Axel Plünnecke

Prof. Dr. Axel Plünnecke

Head of the Research Unit Education, Migration and Innovation

Tel+49 221 4981-701

Mailpluennecke@iwkoeln.de

@A_Pluennecke

Go to profile
Paula Risius

Paula Risius

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-834

Mailrisius@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Dirk Werner

Dirk Werner

Head of the Research Unit Vocational Education and Training

Tel+49 221 4981-712

Mailwerner@iwkoeln.de

@DKW_follow

Go to profile