Foto: Fotolia

Education and Skilled Workers

Foto: Fotolia

From an economic perspective, it is beneficial if policymakers invest in the bright minds of tomorrow and create a competitive, innovative and equitable education system in Germany. The Education Monitor - one of the most important studies on education in Germany - shows that Germany can do even better here.

Schools and universities are not producing enough well-educated young people. This is leading to shortages of skilled workers, which are being exacerbated by demographic change and, as a result, falling numbers of schoolchildren and students as the workforce ages. This makes it all the more important for the state to invest in education and provide the best possible training for existing children and young people. The expansion of early childhood education and all-day care at daycare centers and schools will have a particularly strong impact. Good foundations at the start of education benefit later phases of education, when more is learned. At the same time, families can better realize their employment aspirations and thus also contribute to securing a skilled workforce. Through its subsidiary IW Junior, the IW is also committed to expanding economic education.

Learn moreShow less

Authors
Content Type
Felicitas Hammermann

Felicitas Hammermann

Project Manager for Digital and Print in the Competence Centre for Securing Skilled Workers

Tel+49 221 4981-861

Mailfelicitas.hammermann@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Leena Ann Kozhuppakalam

Leena Ann Kozhuppakalam

Consultant for press and public relations for the Network Q 4.0 project

Tel+49 221 4981-540

Mailkozhuppakalam@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Corinna Kremers

Consultant for education

Tel+49 221 4981-771

Mailkremers@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Louisa Marie Kürten

Louisa Marie Kürten

Economic Research Consultant

Tel+49 221 4981-785

Mailkuerten@iwkoeln.de

@Louisa_Kuerten

Go to profile
Gesina Leininger

Gesina Leininger

Economist for International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 / 4981-325

Mailleininger@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Valeska Martin

Valeska Martin

Researcher for personnel topics in the Competence Centre for Securing Skilled Workers

Tel+49 221 4981-823

Mailvaleska.martin@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Axel Plünnecke

Prof. Dr. Axel Plünnecke

Head of the Research Unit Education, Migration and Innovation

Tel+49 221 4981-701

Mailpluennecke@iwkoeln.de

@A_Pluennecke

Go to profile
Paula Risius

Paula Risius

Consultant for empirical research in the Network Q 4.0 project

Tel+49 221 4981-834

Mailrisius@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Juliane Rohner

Juliane Rohner

Researcher for the project Network Q 4.0

Tel+49 221 4981-627

Mailrohner@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Miriam Schöpp

Miriam Schöpp

Researcher for the Project Kompetenzzentrum Fachkräftesicherung (KOFA)

Tel+49 221 4981-545

Mailschoepp@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Irena Theuer

Irena Theuer

Consultant

Tel+49 221 4981-868

Mailtheuer@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Dirk Werner

Dirk Werner

Head of the Research Unit Vocational Education and Training

Tel+49 221 4981-712

Mailwerner@iwkoeln.de

@DKW_follow

Go to profile