Germany is dependent on immigrants for rejuvenating its ageing population. How much they can contribute to maintaining the skilled workforce that German companies need and stabilizing public budgets will depend on how well they are integrated into the labour market.

There have been two major flows of immigration to Germany in recent years. The first is the arrival of workers from other EU member states as a result of the right to free movement within the Union. The many well-educated people this has brought into the country have been in a position quickly to gain a foothold in the German labour market. The second influx consisted of refugees from Syria and other countries in the years 2015 and 2016. Germany is still in the process of integrating these new-arrivals into the labour market. A major challenge is that many refugees have few skills or qualifications. It will take some years for them to become part of the skilled workforce that German companies need.

Given that the number of potential migrants from the European Union is likely to fall as the societies of other member states also age, Germany should make it easier for skilled workers from non-EU countries to settle here. There is a particular need for an updated immigration law to establish clear conditions for immigration from third countries. This should include allowing access to those without a specific job offer whose qualifications nonetheless mean that they have good prospects of finding work. In addition, it should be made simpler for the education and training that immigrants received in their home country to be recognized here so that the qualifications they bring with them retain their value.

Justina Alichniewicz

Justina Alichniewicz

Economist for Migration

Tel+49 221 4981-875

Mailalichniewicz@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Sarah Berger

Economist for Immigration, Innovation and STEM

Tel+49 221 4981-694

Mailberger@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Jean-Marc Djanhan

Economist for Immigration

Tel+49 221 4981-520

Maildjanhan@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Regina Flake

Regina Flake

Economist for International Occupational Training Research, Supply of skill needs and Vocational Training

Tel+49 221 4981-840

Mailflake@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Wido Geis

Wido Geis

Senior Economist for Family Economics

Tel+49 221 4981-705

Mailgeis@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Desirée Holz

Desirée Holz

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981‑289

Mailholz@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Svenja Jambo

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-794

Mailjambo@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Markus Körbel

Markus Körbel

Researcher

Tel+49 221 4981-874

Mailkoerbel@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Kerstin Krey

Kerstin Krey

Tel+49 221 4981-833

Fax+49 221 4981-99833

Mailkrey@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Mohamed Salah Mansour

Economist füor International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 4981-520

Mailmansour@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Jeannette Michaelle Nintcheu

Jeannette Michaelle Nintcheu

Researcher for Immigration

Tel+49 221 4981-872

Mailnintcheu@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Sarah Pierenkemper

Sarah Pierenkemper

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-884

MailPierenkemper@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Marie-Claire Fee von Radetzky

Marie-Claire Fee von Radetzky

Researcher for International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 4981-275

Mailradetzky@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile

Ilona Riesen

Economist

Tel+49 221 4981-727

Mailriesen@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Holger Schäfer

Holger Schäfer

Senior Economist for Employment and Unemployment

Tel+49 30 27877-124

MailSchaefer.holger@iwkoeln.de

@HSchaeferIW

Go to profile
Kristina Stoewe

Kristina Stoewe

Researcher for International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 4981-852

Mailstoewe@iwkoeln.de

@KristinaStoewe

Go to profile
Sandra Vogel

Sandra Vogel

Researcher for Industrial Relations

Tel+49 221 4981-746

Mailsandra.vogel@iwkoeln.de

@San_Vogel

Go to profile
Dirk Werner

Dirk Werner

Head of the Research Unit Vocational Education and Training

Tel+49 221 4981-712

Mailwerner@iwkoeln.de

@DKW_follow

Go to profile
Daniel Wörndl

Daniel Wörndl

Economist for International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 4981-864

Mailwoerndl@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile