Vocational Education and Training

The experts in this unit analyse the contribution made by occupational training to the enhancement of skilled workers’ qualifications and companies’ competitiveness.

Sections of the Research Unit

Vocational Training

The researchers analyse the German dual VET system, which combines school-based and work-based learning. They also investigate trends in supply and demand of apprenticeship positions and how VET can remain sustainable and attractive for both young people and enterprises.

Continuing Vocational Education and Training

Topics in this area include the rate and extent of companies’ activities in continuing vocational training, e.g., by providing refresher courses or other forms of lifelong learning. Every three years IW researchers conduct the representative “IW Continuing Vocational Training Study”.

Supply of skill needs

Skilled workers are vital for the success of German enterprises. Research on the availability or shortages of skilled workers as well as potential solutions to this problem – in particular for small and medium enterprises (SMEs) –are major topics of the research unit.

International Occupational Training Research

In particular due to the low youth unemployment rates the interest of other countries in the German dual VET system is growing. Therefore, researchers exchange regularly with representatives of other countries how dual elements in VET can be strengthened. Furthermore, the research unit provides information about foreign VET systems and foreign qualifications (bq-portal.de) in order to provide more transparency for companies and to support the competent bodies in the equivalence assessment. Many of the topics of the research unit are closely connected to other research units concerned with schooling, academic qualifications, or migration issues, inter alia. The main focus is on Germany. However, in many topics, there is a strong connection to European policy-making (e.g., concerning the implementation of "dual" elements abroad). We contribute our expertise to the public and political debate.

Dirk Werner

Dirk Werner

Head of the Research Unit Vocational Education and Training

Tel+49 221 4981-712

Mailwerner@iwkoeln.de

@DKW_follow

Go to profile
Melanie Behrendt

Melanie Behrendt

Speaker for Press and Public Relations

Tel+49 221 4981-702

Mailbehrendt@iwkoeln.de

Zuzana Blazek

Zuzana Blazek

Senior Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-830

Mailblazek@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Alexander Burstedde

Alexander Burstedde

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-217

Mailburstedde@iwkoeln.de

@ABurstedde

Go to profile
Annette Dietz

Annette Dietz

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-796

Maildietz@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Regina Flake

Dr. Regina Flake

Economist for International Occupational Training Research, Supply of skill needs and Vocational Training

Tel+49 221 4981-840

Mailflake@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Svenja Jambo

Svenja Jambo

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-794

Mailjambo@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Markus Körbel

Markus Körbel

Researcher for International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 4981-874

Mailkoerbel@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Lydia Malin

Dr. Lydia Malin

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-850

Mailmalin@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Mohamed Salah Mansour

Mohamed Salah Mansour

Economist for International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 4981-520

Mailmansour@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
David B. Meinhard

David B. Meinhard

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981‑815

Mailmeinhard@iwkoeln.de

@DBMeinhard

Go to profile
Christoph Metzler

Christoph Metzler

Economist for Vocational Training and Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-871

Mailmetzler@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Valerie Müller

Dr. Valerie Müller

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-289

Mailmueller@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Sarah Pierenkemper

Sarah Pierenkemper

Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-884

MailPierenkemper@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Marie-Claire Fee von Radetzky

Marie-Claire Fee von Radetzky

Researcher for International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 4981-275

Mailradetzky@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Olesia Schmetzer

Olesia Schmetzer

Economist for International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 4981-709

Mailschmetzer@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Anna Schopen

Anna Schopen

Researcher for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-832

Mailschopen@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Susanne Seyda

Dr. Susanne Seyda

Senior Economist for Supply of skill needs and Continuing Vocational Education and Training

Tel+49 221 4981-740

Mailseyda@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Sibylle Stippler

Sibylle Stippler

Senior Economist for Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981‑865

Mailstippler@iwkoeln.de

@SibylleStippler

Go to profile
Kristina Stoewe

Kristina Stoewe

Researcher for International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 4981-852

Mailstoewe@iwkoeln.de

@KristinaStoewe

Go to profile
Daniel Wörndl

Daniel Wörndl

Economist for International Occupational Training Research

Tel+49 221 4981-864

Mailwoerndl@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile