Network Q 4.0

The declared aim of the "NETWORK Q 4.0 - Network for the training of vocational training staff in the digital transformation" is to bring vocational trainers up to speed for the challenges of digitalisation.


The Network Q 4.0 is a joint project of the German Economic Institute (Institut der deutschen Wirtschaft - IW) and the Training Institutes of German Commerce and Industry (Bildungswerke der Wirtschaft) and is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. 
The project focuses on providing vocational trainers with the latest technical and soft skills and thus enhancing their ability to adapt and (re)design the content and processes of Germany’s dual vocational training system specifically to meet the requirements of the digital transformation. The IW is collaborating with the Training Institutes to develop and test tailored further training formats for vocational trainers while taking account of the specific needs of the different regions and sectors.
The Training Institutes assess the specific needs of the regions and sectors, conduct personal consultations with companies and carry out regional design-thinking and future workshops to develop training course prototypes. The IW supports the project with empirical labour market analyses and establishes sector-specific training needs by interviewing companies and vocational training staff. In addition, the IW coordinates the work of the regional project partners and when the further training formats have been tested in practice prepares them for nationwide roll-out.

Click here to access Network Q 4.0.

Dirk Werner

Dirk Werner

Head of the Research Unit Vocational Education and Training

Tel+49 221 4981-712

Mailwerner@iwkoeln.de

@DKW_follow

Go to profile
Karen Bartling

Dr. Karen Bartling

Team leader Netzwerk Q4.0

Tel+49 221 4981-634

Mailbartling@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
David B. Meinhard

David B. Meinhard

Team leader network Q 4.0

Tel+49 221 4981‑815

Mailmeinhard@iwkoeln.de

@DBMeinhard

Go to profile
Melanie Behrendt

Melanie Behrendt

Speaker for Public Relations at the Kompetenzzentrum Fachkräftesicherung and Network Q 4.0

Tel+49 221 4981-702

Mailbehrendt@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Christian Hofmeister

Christian Hofmeister

Consultant for digital vocational training in the Network Q 4.0 project

Tel+49 221 4981-674

Mailhofmeister@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Alissa Knobel

Alissa Knobel

Researcher for international vocational training research and for the project Network Q 4.0

Tel+49 221 4981-538

Mailknobel@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Leena Ann Kozhuppakalam

Leena Ann Kozhuppakalam

Consultant for press and public relations for the Network Q 4.0 project

Tel+49 221 4981-540

Mailkozhuppakalam@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Louisa Marie Kürten

Louisa Marie Kürten

Economic Research Consultant

Tel+49 221 4981-785

Mailkuerten@iwkoeln.de

@Louisa_Kuerten

Go to profile
Christoph Metzler

Christoph Metzler

Economist for Vocational Training and Supply of skill needs

Tel+49 221 4981-871

Mailmetzler@iwkoeln.de

@TophAndre

Go to profile
Valerie Müller

Dr. Valerie Müller

Consultant for digital vocational training in the Network Q 4.0 project

Tel+49 221 4981-289

Mailmueller@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Paula Risius

Paula Risius

Consultant for empirical research in the Network Q 4.0 project

Tel+49 221 4981-834

Mailrisius@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile
Juliane Rohner

Juliane Rohner

Researcher for the project Network Q 4.0

Tel+49 221 4981-627

Mailrohner@iwkoeln.de

Go to profile